La Duni Latin Kitchen

Located in Dallas, Texas there’s a little Latin kitchen that can be found in Northpark Mall.

This little restaurant is a dim lit place with dark brown wood and pastel orange colors. The dim light really makes for a perfect date setting. Not only is this place known for its colorful European food, but also its coffee and desserts. La Duni makes a variety wedding cakes and other special occasion cakes. There are several cakes throughout the restaurant out for display, which makes it hard to resist dessert!

Going out to eat always makes it hard to stay healthy and save money. However, I was able to find a few choices which I believed would work well. As I looked over the menu, there were several different types of entrees, sandwiches and salads. I found myself in the sandwich section mainly due to price. La Duni definitely has a higher priced menu than other small cafe style restaurants, so keep this in mind if you decide to visit.

One thing I really thought was interesting about the restaurant were their water and tea glasses. On each table they leave large glass bottles filled with whatever drink you’ve chosen. A very different idea compared to most other restaurants, but overall I enjoyed the convenience.

I decided to go with the Gaucho Chicken Sandwich. With this, you get to choose the sandwich bread you would like, your choice of regular french fries, sweet potato fries, yucca fries or a side salad. Obviously, my choice was the salad!

The Gaucho Chicken Sandwich is basically marinated grilled chicken breast, lettuce, tomato and guacamole. A ciabatta bun sounded great, so that’s what I went with.

This meal was filled with an absolutely amazing amount of flavor. Biting into it, you could taste every individual ingredient. There were no words to explain how happy my taste buds were with every bite. The salad was unique, and one of the best I’ve ever had. It was mixed with a vinaigrette dressing that had a fresh garlic flavor. (I asked for the recipe, but they couldn’t give it to me!) The salad was also sprinkled with feta cheese and topped with a few tomatoes.

I am not a very picky eater, but I will say that foods can definitely have too much flavor or not enough at times. Some ingredients may not go well together, consistency might not be right, but from my experience at La Duni Latin Kitchen, they struck the perfect balance. I would definitely recommend this unique little kitchen to anyone as a special occasion type place, or even just to impress someone on a wonderful night out! The service was wonderful and I will most definitely return. Possibly out of my price range for an every day venture, but if I ever hit the jackpot I won’t hesitate to set up camp in their kitchen!

Want more? Check out La Duni online!

Leave a comment

Filed under Latin Cuisine

Leave a Reply

